The Planning & Building Department supports short and long-range planning activities for the citizens of the Town of Jackson. The department provides information to property owners and the general public regarding comprehensive planning and zoning issues. The department reviews permit applications, issues building and related permits, and inspects buildings and properties to ensure compliance with applicable codes and ordinances.

Please see the following links for:

Jackson/Teton County Comprehensive Plan      

      Jackson/Teton County Housing Supply Plan (English)

      Jackson/Teton County Housing Supply Plan (Spanish)

Land Development Regulations

      Jackson/Teton County Administrative Manual

      Design Guidelines

      Community Streets Plan 

Copies of documents may be purchased from the Planning Department. Please visit the comprehensive plan website for more information.

Tyler Sinclair Planning Director

Main Office
150 East Pearl Avenue (upstairs in the Town Hall)
Jackson, WY 83001
Hours: 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Mailing Address
Planning & Building Department
PO Box 1687
Jackson, WY 83001

Phone: (307) 733-0440 or (307) 733-0520
Fax: (307) 734-3563

The Plannning & Building Department has several forms that may be required for your project. Browse Permits and Applications to download your own copies.

Zoning Maps
Large colored zoning maps may be purchased from the Town Planning Department. Please call (307) 733-0440, ext. 1304. Town of Jackson zoning information is also available on the Teton County map server - click on the Town of Jackson zoning map.

Subdivision Plats
Copies of final plats for subdivisions located in town can be obtained from the Teton County Clerk's Office which is located in the County Administration Building at 200 South Willow Street. Please call them directly at (307) 733-4430. Covenants, Conditions & Restrictions (CC&Rs) and deed restrictions may also be researched at the Teton County Clerk's Office.

Town of Jackson Building Official: Steve Haines (307) 733-0520, extension 1350.

Building Permits and Contractor Licensing
Kelly Bowlin is the Development Coordinator. She can answer any questions regarding the building permit process and Contractor Licensing. You may reach Kelly at (307) 733-0520, extension 1352. 

Building Inspections and Sign Permits
Billy Nunn in the Building Inspector/Code Compliance Officer. Building inspections are scheduled through Billy at (307) 733-0520, extension 1351. He can also answer questions regarding sign permits, building codes and code compliance.

Jeanne Carruth is the Office Manager and can answer questions regarding applications and general questions about the planning process. Jeanne can be reached at (307) 733-0440, extension 1304.

Tyler Valentine, Associate Planner (307) 733-0440, extension 1305.

Regan Kohlhardt, Jackson/Teton County Long-Range Associate Planner (307) 733-0440, extension 1306.

Bob Nevins, Senior Planner (307) 733-0440, extension 1302.

Paul Anthony, Principal Planner (307) 733-0440, extension 1303.  

Tyler Sinclair, Planning Director (307) 733-0440, extension 1301. 

Jackson/Teton County Affordable Housing Department
April Norton is the Housing Director.  April can be reached at the following phone numbers:  office- (307) 732-0867 and cell - (307) 690-7442. She can also answer questions regarding affordable housing in Teton County.  If you are looking for information to apply for a volunteer position on the Housing Supply Board you can click here for a description and you can click here for an application.  

Text Size